Wednesday, January 05, 2005

January 5, 2005 Dakar, Jeff Gordon, Benny Parsons

I was very excited to see that OLN would have Dakar coverage. I found this info on Jayski. I set up the VCR. Well, guess what-it was some motorcycle tryouts for Dakar. The tryouts were held in California. Now obviously this is not current; it was sort of like a reality show. How disappointing is this-shame on OLN. I heard Robby Gordon had an accident, but is okay. I would have liked to have seen all of this as I would have last year on Speed. Why aren't we able to see this???
Right now Jeff Gordon is on Leno (I am a diehard Letterman fan, but switched over just to see Gordon). I like Jeff. He talked about Jimmie's wedding; he wasn't even in it!! Oh well. Jeff signed the motorcycle that Jay has to earn money for the Tsunami-that is a good thing.
Benny Parsons is a great guy; however, he is my least favorite announcer. I have heard rumors on various websites that he may retire, not this year though. Does his announcing annoy anyone else. He is always yelling, oh no, then nothing happens. He is so excitable. I think he is a great guy, and I do like his Benny and the Pits segments, but not his play-by-play. Perhaps Rusty Wallace will take over Benny's position. He is out there promoting himself. I thoroughly enjoyed his spot on Letterman last week. He is a lot of fun, and I would like to see him have a go as an announcer. He would certainly be interesting to listen to whenever Ryan Newman was involved in something. They still have not talked about the incident according to Nascar.com today. Why should he talk to Newman???
Back to Benny-I just read an article he wrote about Kurt Busch and his maturity-will it remain through the new year? I could find much better things to write about than that. Give Kurt a chance. So far, he has done quite well. He is in my top three to win the Daytona 500-more on that as the time nears.
Well, it has been a long, rainy day. Geoffie and I have been out three times in the rain today. I am exhausted and ready to curl up in a nice warm, dry bed. Thankful I can.

No comments: