On Monday, an article by Jenna Fryer appeared in the Atlantic City Press about Kurt Busch, Nascar Chase contender. The article appeared in the Sports Section. I am a long time fan of Kurt Busch, I believe Jenna is a long time non fan of Kurt. I want to tell you about the other side of Kurt Busch; the one I know. Before almost every single race, Kurt sits in his hauler outside the track and signs autographs for fans and allows photos of him and his fans. No other driver of his stature does this almost every week and right before the race. Kurt funded a gym at the Victory Junction Gang Camp for chronically and terminally ill children. The gym has a special air system that allows children to play in specially conditioned air. Kurt works tirelessly with Veterans and visits Veteran's Homes and Hospitals. Last year he worked with Operation Homefront, and has now switched his efforts to the Armed Services Foundation. Last week before the race he visited the Richmond VA Hospital. One Nascar Foundation day a couple years back, I called to make a donation and Kurt answered the phone. We spoke for ten minutes about racing and his career including his 2004 Championship. My Mom walked in during the conversation and thought I was talking to a friend. This February I went to the Philadelphia Auto Show and saw Kurt walking through the hall. He graciously stopped and allowed me to get a great photo of him. Kurt is a passionate racer. He wants to win another championship. Yes, sometimes his temper gets the best of him and sometimes he is own worst enemy-aren't we all at times, but his is because he is passionate about racing and his accomplishments in the sport. He wants to win as much as Jimmie Johnson, and like all else wants to be recognized for his achievements. This is the side of Kurt Busch, Jenna Fryer did not acknowledge. This is not her first negative article about Kurt. She also has written many articles which are totally favorable toward Jimmie Johnson (do a google search), no matter what. But this side of Kurt above is the Kurt I know and who I have been a fan of since 2000 when he appeared in the Nascar Truck Series, and this side of him is rarely mentioned.
In my opinion Jenna pushed all of Kurt's buttons Saturday night by asking Johnson about what Kurt said, but not exactly in the same words he said what he said, and not in the same context. Why didn't she ask Kurt what he meant? Why ask someone else (Johnson) who had not even heard the comment or its original context?
Jenna tweeted to Johnson yesterday. I saw no tweets to Kurt. I question this whole issue.
And the incidents on track involving Kurt and Jimmie, Junior and Kvapfil, Vickers and Ambrose are worthy of another article as there were some definite inconsistencies as to the drivers who got penalties for their actions on track Saturday night and who did not. Although it was very clear Vickers was pulled off the track and held, Nascar is supposedly saying today there was no penalty. Granted Vickers had to repair his car. But many have questioned why the 88 and 48 were not also given penalties for intentionally wrecking other drivers. Experts, like Dave Despain and Kyle Petty said Kurt did not intentionally wreck Johnson first. His brakes locked up. What Kurt went through with questions asking if he can race clean or not, and then Jenna misconstruing context and exact wording would be enough to erupt anyone's temper. He finished fifth in the race, oh by the way. And Kurt is seeded seventh for the Chase.
I hope his passion for racing works through this, and he goes on to show the great racer he is.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
1 comment:
These two articles might explain somethings...Jenna is beholden to JJ for his charity giving money to her kids school system.
http://bleacherreport.com/articles/241869-johnson-gives-local-schools-150000-in-grants
http://www.jimmiejohnsonfoundation.org/Events/Helmet-of-Hope.aspx
Post a Comment