January was wonderful because of Dakar. Too bad Robby Gordon could not finish the race-hopefully he will go back next year. It was sad to see one motorcyclist die and also two spectators. But nothing deterred the racers from finishing. This is one of the best sporting events of the year. The scenery, the people along the way, the competitors make this a grand sporting experience. Thanks to OLNTV for their daily coverage. We did not miss a day! Mark your calendar for next January 1. If you have OLN on your cable, do not miss it. If you don't have OLN, beg your cable provider to get it for you. They also cover the TourdeFrance.
I spent a lot of this month writing letters for Kurt Busch. I was devastated by Jack Roush and his Newell Rubbermaid Sharpie and Diageo Crown Royal sponsors. Kurt should have been innocent until being found guilty. He was not drinking anymore than most of us would have at dinner. I do not believe he should have sassed the deputy, but I wonder how much he was goaded or just trying to proclaim his innocence. I blame the police and the sheriff the most. Just a bad set of circumstances all the way around. But I saw a clip of Kurt today. He seems so happy. I felt like last year from the beginning was drudgery for Kurt. I do not think he got the respect he deserved especially from Jack Roush.I honestly felt that Roush's goals were very different from Kurt's. I do believe Kurt wanted to win another championship. Instead it seemed as though just like Matt Kenseth the year before, Kurt was shelved to the back. It seemed as though Jack was pushing Bif and Mark as well as Edwards toward the end/middle of the year. I think his goal was to have every driver win a championship. That is a great goal for an owner, but not for a driver who has won one. Kurt is young, and will hopefully win a second quickly. I still believe he is one of the best technical drivers on the track.
My newest Nascar hero is Roger Penske. I hope Kurt moves forward, learns a lot from Roger and wins another championship this year or next. His brother may be in contention this year.It will be great if they both get in the Chase.
Our house was so happy when Kurt won the championship. What happened in 2005 at the end really ruined the season for us except for the fact that my Mom is a die hard Tony Stewart fan with Kurt as her second. I actually became physically ill when I heard Roush pull Kurt out of the car. From the minute I saw Kurt tell his side, I knew he was telling the truth. I never looked back and was right.
I am eager to see how McMurray does in the 26. I saw Jamie the same day I saw Kurt in December of 2004 at the NBC Experience in NY. Jamie did not even look at me when I spoke to him. He signed my autograph while continuing to converse with Matt Kenseth. Kurt on the other hand had a nice conversation with me and signed not one, but two autographs for me. He was so much more personable. Kurt had as long a line as McMurray had had earlier. Regarding McMurray, why did he go to Roush instead of taking Rusty's seat?? I am so glad it worked out as it has. Cannot wait to see the competition.
I read an interesting article in the NY Daily News the other day about Marco Andretti, son of Michael, grandson of Mario. It was a great article. I do think Dan Wheldon, Danica Patrick, Dario Franchitti, Sam Hornish, Tony Kanaan as well as a few others are beginning to really revive the IRL. Mario Andretti will hopefully drive this revival forward as well. I look forward to watching IRL again this year. Thank goodness for PIP when the races are on at the same time.
More later.
Wednesday, January 25, 2006
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment